Week 12 : Mini Links : What’s really inside those Mcdonald’s french fries?

Sometimes I wish I did not come across such articles – it just ruins everything. Like how those maraschino cherries are made…

Do you know what’s really inside those delicious french fries? I love fries and potatoes are one of my biggest weaknesses, along with bacon and waffles. I can eat waffles for 7 days straight, that is true.

I am not a big fan of Mcdonald’s burgers but I love the fries. I always find that they have the perfect crispiness and taste. Now that I have read this article, I will think twice the next time we go for a drive-thru at Mcdonalds…maybe I will just order the small portion.

Then I remember how much fries I have eaten since I was young. OH MY GOD.

Some facts for you about their fries: 

– McDonald’s spuds get dunked in an oil bath twice. According to Ochner, the manufacturers cut and boil them and possibly fry them once before freezing them and shipping them to restaurants, where they are fried again.

– If you remember Morgan Spurlock’s alarming 2004 documentary “Super Size Me,” you will recall how McDonald’s fries can last for months without breaking down at all, continuing to look like you bought them yesterday.

– TBHQ (tertiary butylhydroquinone): This super potent preservative, found in lots of foods, is what might be helping citric acid keep long-dead fries from becoming zombies. Though it’s also said to be safe, animal studies have linked it to stomach ulcers and damage to DNA.

-DIMETHYLPOLYSILOXANE: What’s an anti-foaming agent doing in your fries? Bizarrely enough, this silicone serves a purpose: McDonald’s manufacturers likely add some to the water when boiling the potatoes before frying and freezing them for shipment. This probably helps speed up the process (no foam spilling over) and cuts back on cleanup afterward. 

Read all about it here.

For more like this, go here and here.

5 comments

  1. Cheryl · · Reply

    McDonalds is one fast food that i CANNOT REJECT…

    1. Next time ask KW to fry french fries for you! It is healthier!!

  2. nooooo! this cant be true! I love Mcdonald’s fries 😦

  3. Yes this is why I don’t eat fast food! Too many suspicious chemicals. Better to make fries at home I think. They will be fresh and just potato.

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

