My Everyday Life : Week 3

This week has been great because Friday was a holiday in Singapore! Everyone should work 4 days and rest 3 days, isn’t that more fair? I love long weekends!

This week, we revisited another restaurant that we haven’t been to in a while, went to a new cafe that was great, baked twice (and both turned out well!), brought my grandma out for dinner at her favourite place, my good friend had an ‘OMG’ burger, we received something funny in the mail and my mother was in her 2nd week of holiday in Spain & Portugal … whew, and that concludes our week!

Please enjoy these snaps and let me know what you did this week!

IMG_6277

I saw this in the newspapers on Sunday – Laduree’s maracons did not even come close to the top few. But it is one of the most costly.

IMG_6282

GoCarTours – my mum in Portugal

IMG_6284

My dinner on Tuesday – before gym. Sashimi, edamame beans and avocado. Please don’t ask me what we had after gym.

IMG_6286

KW’s dinner one night – curry rice. This looks really gross but it tastes like heaven.

IMG_6287

Carbonara pasta at Jewel Cafe – my sister’s dish

IMG_6288

The OMG burger from Jewel Cafe – our good friend’s dish – it has bacon, fried egg and luncheon meat. I can die for this.

IMG_6299

Casa Verde – restaurant at Singapore Botanic Gardens – one of our lunches this week.

IMG_6301

Laksa – spicy noodle soup

IMG_6302

Flat White

IMG_6307

One of my mum’s great dinner dishes in Portugal this week

IMG_6312

This super funny note came in the mail — someone in my condo apartment wants to make friends here in Singapore.

IMG_6316

One of my favourite posts this week.

IMG_6326

Starting on my new book this week, at a sushi restaurant – both reviews coming soon!

IMG_6320

Sashimi at The Sushi Bar at Far East Plaza

IMG_6329

Shopping for dresses

IMG_6331

One of the many addictive snacks from our shopping trip to Yamakawa Japanese store last week – we couldn’t put this snack down!

IMG_6333

Having a nice coffee date with KW at Starbucks on Wednesday night.

IMG_6334

The above japanese snack – poured out onto the Starbucks napkin – for easier access..

IMG_6336

One of my mum’s lunches this week in Barcelona

IMG_6339

Photo taken in a market in Barcelona

 

5

Little pigs being sold in the markets in Spain. I felt sad looking at this..

IMG_6350

All is peaceful before our body combat class

IMG_6352

Fish soup with egg – what I had after body combat class on Wednesday

IMG_6354

I went for a hair spa session at J’s salon – this is their newly renovated salon.

IMG_6359

My mum sat this, this week.

IMG_6362

KW’s dinner one night – mee goreng (It is made with thin yellow noodles fried in cooking oil with garlic, onion or shallots, fried prawn, chicken, or beef, sliced meatballs, chili, Chinese cabbage, cabbages, tomatoes and egg)

IMG_6364

My dad was feeling nostalgic and he looked through old photos of my sister and I.

IMG_6367

We went to Founders Bak Kut Teh at Rangoon Road – not as tasty as we thought.
Bak Kut Teh consists of meaty pork ribs simmered in a complex broth of herbs and spices.

IMG_6371

Our Bak Kut Teh lunch

IMG_6374

After my sister and her friend tried out Jewel Cafe, we came for coffee one evening too.

IMG_6377

Lattes at Jewel Cafe

IMG_6383

Jingle with her rabbit

IMG_6392

We brought my grandma for her favourite chicken rice.

unbelievable-places-6

One of my weekly links this week – this great street is lovely.

enhanced-buzz-7203-1369151970-18

Do you know how these cherries are made ? Read here!

IMG_6399

KW baked a banana cake from this recipe and it was successful!

IMG_6400

Duck rice from this store in Geylang yesterday

IMG_6401

Duck Rice

IMG_6407

Strawberry scones with brown sugar crumble – We did this yesterday and it was good!

IMG_6424

KW’s banana bread with orange dark chocolate chips

IMG_6425

And that concludes the end of another week!

For other weekly everyday life posts, please see here and here.

For other interesting posts, please see here, here.

2 comments

  1. The food pictures bring many taste-memories back to me. I lived in Singapore for several years in the 2000’s and probably wasn’t adventurous enough, although I didn’t realize until your pictures how I did crave the taste of laksa.

    A surprisingly satisfying fast food place, at least back around 2005, was the MOS Burgers, which offered among other things burger patties (including vegetarian or vegan burger substitutes) with an option of steamed rice cakes in place of the bun, which is one of those things i’d never have imagined beforehand but which feel incredibly obvious afterwards.

    1. HI Joseph, Yes, laksa is great. Come back to visit sometime. SG has changed beyond your wildest dreams. Everything is so expensive now!! 🙂
      Yes at MOS burgers everyone was suprised to find the patties with rice instead of bread. But it is a cool idea. Till now people love to eat that. I have not eaten that in a while though and this reminds me to visit it soon.

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

