Suprette : Simply super burgers!

IMG_6274

After my spinning class on Friday, we were starving and brainstorming about where to eat for dinner/ supper. We usually have a few reliable food spots to try after our exercise classes on Friday. But strangely we did not feel like having any of those on Friday.

We finally decided on having some dishes at Lavender Hawker Centre. When we reached the place, I saw that there were seats opposite the hawker centre, at this hotel.

photo

Kam Leng Hotel – just opposite Lavender Hawker Centre

We have passed by this hotel many times but never had the chance to find out what was in there. I vaguely recalled reading somewhere that there was a good restaurant at Kam Leng Hotel. This is a hotel that has been refurbished and brought back to life. It is not in the central touristy parts of Singapore. It is getting popular these days to really stay in the outskirts of Singapore (if anywhere on this tiny island can be called outskirts).

I asked KW to park his car at the nearest lot while I googled.

Then I got excited – this is where Suprette is! I have read about it quite a few times and I remembered they do a mean burger.

We decided to make an impromptu date night out of it and we went in. The menu is pretty sparse and I know we had to try the burger. We decided to sit outside the restaurant that night as it was not as warm as other nights. There are a few seats for 2, outside the restaurant, along the road. On the 2nd night that we went, there were 3 of us so we sat inside. It can accommodate about 20 people in the restaurant snugly.

We ordered the Suprette Burger and Chicken Breast stuffed with Ricotta and Spinach. The Suprette Burger comes with beef patty and gruyere. I added avocado and bacon. Of course there would be bacon. No burger to me is complete without bacon.

2

Salad that came with the main meals

IMG_6238

The Suprette Burger

1

These days, restaurants in Singapore are using the plates and bowls that our grandparents used in the 60s..

The burger was really very, very good – firstly,  the presentation of the burger is great. You know how some burgers come and the bacon, tomatoes etc are falling off ? And the proportions are not great? This one has an ample sized patty, with perfectly buttered sesame buns that are still crispy and enough bacon to satisfy. It also comes with shoestring fries that I love. This was exactly what I was craving for, after my spinning class. I know, all the efforts are wasted after eating this. But then again, I exercise so that I can eat more!

IMG_6237

Chicken with ricotta & spinach

The chicken breast comes with Bacon, apricot chutney and nutmeg. It was very nicely done as well – the meat was still juicy and the ricotta was a nice complement to the spinach.

The portions were huge as well so we divided both the dishes and shared. Every main dish comes with salad and free flow fries (I didn’t know about this till my sister told me on Saturday night when we came again for dinner).

KW had cider and I had a latte after.

IMG_6230

On Saturday we ordered the Hanger steak with bone marrow, spicy pasta with prawns and the burger. Both the steak and the pasta were ordinary but the quality of the burger was consistent.

I would visit Suprette again for the burger and possibly try them out for brunch. There is Shakshuka on the menu and Kw wants to try that. It is eggs poached in spicy tomato sauce, with feta cheese, lamb sausages and crusty bread. I would like to try the spiced French toast. Since they open at 7am, if we get up earlier on weekdays, we might be able to squeeze it in before work!

For other food reviews, go here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

SUPRETTE

383 Jalan Besar, Kam Leng Hotel, tel : +65 6298 8962

Parking-Map

2 comments

  1. Another Great Post!! (laughing)

    1. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

