My Everyday Life : Week 2

Our week was great and we ate at a new restaurant, rediscovered an old one that we loved and ate pies!

Here is our week, told in photos!

IMG_6044

A newspaper article from the Sunday Times last week, about the death of the journalists’ pet dog. There are not many articles in the newspapers that touch me. This one did.

IMG_6043

KW’s lunch at the neighbourhood coffeeshop
Kway Chap – dish of flat, broad rice sheets in a soup made with dark soy sauce, served with pig offal, braised duck meat, various kinds of beancurd, preserved salted vegetables, and braised hard-boiled eggs.

IMG_6046

Our dinner on Sunday night from Napolizz Pizza. We bought 4 pizzas to share!

IMG_6052

My mum arrived safely in Spain for her holidays and this was what she ate for her 1st breakfast there.

IMG_6057

My sister went to Pulau Ubin with her friends and she saw this obscene monkey!

IMG_6059

She also saw wild boars – a mother with 3 piglets!
Pulau Ubin is one of the few places left in Singapore that are truly rural.

IMG_6060

My sister with all her good friends at the jetty of Pulau Ubin

IMG_6066

A book that I finished this week – review coming soon!

IMG_6082

My mum picked and ate wild raspberries in Spain!

IMG_6102

While having my lunch on Monday, I noticed I was the only one eating alone amongst other diners. Here is my observation.

IMG_6103

I had the salmon teriyaki set for lunch and read my book.

IMG_6104

After lunch, I strolled around the basement of Takashimaya and saw all these shops. This one sells coffee that comes out of civet cats! Yes it sounds disgusting.

IMG_6105

Fresh baquettes from the oven, from Donq Bakery

IMG_6106

Different types of bread available at Donq Bakery

IMG_6109

These are delicious

IMG_6110

Egg tarts from a standalone store

IMG_6111

Korean appetizers – they sell them by the grams.

IMG_6112

Gelat

I didn’t try these gelato – my favourite will always be Alfero Artisan Gelato.

IMG_6113

After that I went shopping! Didn’t buy anything here though.

IMG_6115

Yes in Singapore there are always queues.
This is the queue at lunchtime on Monday at Garretts Popcorn.

IMG_6119

Look at the dazzling display of colors available! No wonder we like them all..

IMG_6135

KW joined me at Nakajima Suisan Grilled Fish for lunch on Wednesday. He ate the snow cod and liked it!

IMG_6136

After that we went to Kinokuniya Bookstore to browse – I don’t buy magazines anymore because I subscribe through my ipad now.

IMG_6137

KW looking at movie magazines

IMG_6141

Stacks and stacks of books – my favourite!

IMG_6142

My sister’s manicure on Thursday

IMG_6143

I googled for this new book by one of my favourite authors – Mo Hayder.

IMG_6146

Getting ready for our body combat class

IMG_6147

My sister had crab porridge at a seafood restaurant with her friends near our house – I didn’t know this existed.

IMG_6164

KW with our coffees for lunch, at Caffe Beviamo. We really like this café and will be back more often.

IMG_6167

My lunch – hummus, olives with bread

IMG_6168

KW’s lunch – Prawn pasta

IMG_6172

After lunch we went shopping at Tanglin Mall. I love these polka dot dishes!

IMG_6173

Colorful spoons from the same shop.

IMG_6174

Lovely furniture from the same shop

IMG_6183

KW’s lunch on Thursday – simple macaroni soup with chicken breast.

IMG_6185

We love going to this stall at a coffeeshop at Tanjong Katong for dinner – very old and traditional but great dishes.

IMG_6186

Fried Rice

IMG_6187

Sweet and sour pork ribs

IMG_6188

Vegetables, stir fried with fermented bean paste – this was delicious!

IMG_6191

Grasshopper pie and cherry pie

IMG_6192

Banana cognac pie with coconut lime vodka pie

We took away 4 slices of pie from my favourite pie shop.

IMG_6196

Lunch on Friday with my friend at Kith Cafe near the office

IMG_6200

KW brought me to Alfero Artisan Gelato for dessert on Friday after work.

IMG_6207

I finished 3 of my favourite perfumes at the same time! How did that happen?

IMG_6211

We bought nasi briyani from Zam Zam near Haji Lane. This is the photo of the mosque opposite the store.

IMG_6222

My chicken briyani from Zam Zam. It was good!IMG_6212

IMG_6226

My sister went to a cafe called Liberty Coffee for snacks – apparently they only open once a week!

IMG_6243

The food page every Friday in the papers – I am appalled by the number of new restaurants on a tiny island like ours!

IMG_6215

I found this hilarious photo of my sister and her friend – her character has not changed since she was young. Look at how she poses in photos – her head is seldom straight on.

IMG_6253

KW had a cup of coffee at the coffeeshop before his pilates class

chelsea

Chelsea won on Wednesday night!

photo

I wore this the next day to celebrate!

Top-Thrill-Dragster

One of my favourite posts this week – roller coasters!

k-bigpic

I wrote about the Rain Room this week. I wish I was in NYC and had the chance to see this exhibition.

c357271695

This article about Hyena Men in Nigeria is an eye-opener. It was one of my mini links for this week.

IMG_6255

We went to this flea market on Saturday evening – one of the most boring 20 mins of my life. Lets just say I am not going to another flea market in SG for a long time to come.

IMG_6257

A store in the flea market – they seem to be bringing retro back to life and reproducing strange things with what we were familiar with in school…

IMG_6258

Only decent thing at the flea – bacon rolls.

IMG_6262

Now this is what i am talking about – shopping at Yamakawa, a Japanese food store. We came to Central Shopping Mall and went to this Japanese store after the flea market.
Whenever we come here, we take a basket as there is so much we like here! We love shopping here.

IMG_6263

Shelves and shelves of snacks galore!

IMG_6269

What we ended up buying!

IMG_6272

We drank bubble tea after.

IMG_6234

We ate at Suprette twice this week – On Friday night and Saturday night!
Look out for my review on it soon.

IMG_6237

Chicken stuffed with Ricotta & Spinach

IMG_6238

The Suprette Burger – the fries is free flow!
One of the best burgers I have had in Singapore.

For what we did and ate in other weeks, look here.

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

