Windowsill Pies, Singapore : So good, I bought 4 slices at 1 go!

IMG_6189[1]

I first read about Windowsill Pies a few years back when they first started operating and back then, they were running it out of a tiny little shop in Clementi. Though Singapore is very small, it still takes effort to drive 40 minutes from my house to the west of Singapore, for pie.

I have a great weakness for pie. Out of all the desserts in the world, I love pie and tarts the most. I will not travel for chocolate, ice cream or other desserts but pie? Pie is at the top of my list. And out of all the pies, I love the fruity ones, not the nutty ones like pecan, walnut etc.

This shop, interestingly, is set up by 2 brothers and honestly when we drove down that day, many many months ago, for my 1st slice of pie at this shop, I did not expect to like it so much. In Singapore, it is not common to find good pies so my expectations were not high. I recalled that I bought a slice of the morello cherry pie at my 1st visit to the tiny shop.

It was so good that I regretted not buying more to keep in the fridge, to eat more the next day. Throughout the months since that day, I have always bought their pies when they joined flea markets, temporary fairs at malls and finally, they set up their own shop.

We went down yesterday as I was seriously craving for some pie and I bought 4 slices at 1 go. Yes, 4. Do not judge me.

IMG_6190[1]

The owners of this place look like typical artsy geeks but boy, can they bake pies man! I have eaten a lot of pies in my life and I come back to this place time and time again for more.

Many pies are either too flaky, too cake-y, have too little fruits, too much flour or it tastes ‘old’ and ‘stale’. The crusts of these pies are perfectly baked, not too buttery and it has the right amount of flakiness. I hate it when you dig your fork into a slice of pie and everything breaks apart. These pies hold up their end of the bargain.

I bought these 4 slices yesterday:

IMG_6191[1]

Morello Cherry & Grasshopper

– Morello Cherry Pie

– Grasshopper Pie – mint with dark chocolate

IMG_6192[1]

Banana Almond Brittle & Coconut Liime Vodka

– Banana Almond Brittle Pie

– Coconut Lime Vodka Pie – their new flavour

shopfront

Front of the store at Horne Road
Image: http://www.windowsillpies.sg

When I went to the shop yesterday, there were patrons there happily having their pies with tea or coffee. We have been there before and it is a small, quaint place with interesting decorations. It has a strange, forest theme that somehow works and as you eat your pie, you are amazed that 2 young brothers have had so much success that they can open their own shop now.

IMG_6193[1]

YES, I spent $30 on pie

The newest flavour, Coconut Lime Vodka Pie, has a strong alcoholic kick and there are huge pieces of vodka jelly in each slice. The tartness of the lime really comes through and each bite is perfectly sour. I am amazed at how the combination of flavours worked once more. Coconut and lime goes together very well but you seldom find this combination in baked goods in Singapore. Most pies in Singapore are the usual apple pie, pecan pie, chocolate pie etc – you know, safe choices. 

cherry

Morello Cherry
Image: windowsillpies.sg

Each slice of pie has its own depth and quirkiness. My new favourite now is the Coconut Lime Vodka Pie and my weakness will always be the Cherry Pie. The cherry slice has a great sugared crust and I love that.

I am not going to tell you that the new shop is also inaccessible because for pie, I have travelled 40 minutes. This shop takes us 20 minutes so I am not complaining.

My sister says they serve food too but come on, why have food when there are pies?

Please do not hesitate to buy me a whole tart for my birthday.

===================================================================================================================

Windowsill Pies

78 Horne Road near Jalan Besar Stadium

  • 78 Horne Road (S)209078
  • Call 90047827 for orders and enquiries

Opening Hours:

  • Tuesday to Thursday 1100-2130
  • Friday 1100-2230
  • Saturday & Sunday 1000-2230
  • Closed Mondays
2 comments

  1. alicia · · Reply

    Yes the pies are nice and i like the decor of the place. Yes and trust you to be buying 4 at a go!!! Just like how you bought 12 macarons at a go and spent $50 on them. Maybe cakes arent your weakness, your weakness are pies! Anyway, did you finish all 4 at one go?

    1. Feel free to buy me pies every week.
      I shared with KW.

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

