My Monday : 13 May : Observations at Lunch

So today is Monday and to cheer myself up (what? you dont feel down on Mondays??), I went for my favourite Japanese grilled fish and had lunch with a book that I have just started reading. It was perfect. Just what I needed before running errands.

photo (1)

And then I started listening to what my surrounding ‘neighbours’ were talking about and who they were.

Couple on left : A gay couple who was so obviously into each other and sweet, that this is totally true.

thCAHTR6VA

One of them was younger and the older one was telling him how to write a cheque for paying his new school fees. Relax, he is not THAT young, he was going for additional classes. They were squabbling about the way the cheque was being written and it was just so endearing to listen to them. Then when their meals arrived, they gave each other what the other loved. More pickles for him, more rice for the other him.

Couple to my front: 2 Japanese ladies having a nice lunch with a baby in tow beside. But you know the funny thing – their babies are NEVER noisy, they are all perfectly smiley and quiet. Why is that so? The both of them eat quietly and smile and nod and nod and smile and nod. And throughout the 45 minutes of my lunch, the baby never makes a sound.

Japanese ladies have an innate quality to look so serene and calm all the time. Even when you see them in shopping centres with 2 infants (one on her and the other one holding onto her hand), they are always smiling.

weird-japan-011

Image: inventorspot.com

Couple to my right: This Singaporean middle-aged woman and her mother just sat there, not speaking. The woman kept on looking at her iphone and her mother kept on looking at me. I think she has never seen anyone read while eating her lunch. She must think “that poor soul, she must be lonely”. When their food arrived, and the waiter asked who the salmon set is for, she LITERALLY TAPPED her index finger on the table and pointed to the space in front of her without even looking up. That disgusts me.

Oh well, that is typical life in Singapore for you.

What, you mean you don’t eavesdrop on others? ?

thCABKTO1Q

6 comments

  1. Charmaine · · Reply

    I read when I eat too! I think we’re the only two people in whole of Singapore who do it… Must have been your bad influence =P

    1. haha, yes..

  2. Alicia · · Reply

    I absolutely love eavesdropping.and I often get chided for doing so too obviously.you must have only managed to read like 2 pages of your book during lunch..haha

    1. NO I read two whole chapters okay? haha!

  3. mr Burns · · Reply

    the last group you observed….totally typical local snobs…these are the usual run-of-the-mill “oh I’m so educated, chi chi and so high class for this place and everyone else” ….

    1. Wow certainly got you riled up… haha

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

