Singapore: Good eats: The Book Cafe

outside_logo

Exterior

2013-04-15 13.22.04

Menu on the colourful chalkboard

Are you the kind of person that thinks of what you would like to eat for your next meal or to plan ahead for lunches or dinners? I love thinking where I am going for lunch or dinner and I look forward to it. And it gets me through the work day. When I reach the office, I look forward to what I am having for lunch. After lunch, I think of my dinner options.

The office crowd seems to go for lunch earlier and earlier these days and if you come out into the scorching heat after 12pm, good luck to you finding a seat at the foodcourt or even cafes. We always try to get out of the Central Business District for lunch if we can as we have more choices and less crowds.

Because of the heat (it is 36 degrees Celsius all year round!), I always resist non-airconditioned places. That means we have to eat at a foodcourt, café or restaurant. The foodcourt is always full and the new cafes that have sprung up overnight in Singapore seem to have less than 15 seats at most. Hence it is always amusing how we rack through all the places that we can go to for lunch.

I recalled that I have been to the Book Café with my friend before, when I worked in my previous company. It is a small café but with ample seating. That was a few years ago so I am not sure what they serve now.

2013-04-15 12.49.35

The lunch crowd yesterday

We were pleasantly surprised to get the last 2 seats available in the café and everyone seems to be having a good lunch. The crowd seems to be from the neighbouring companies or I guess others drove there, like we did. It is in a residential area that houses mostly expats.

We ordered the specials of the day:

2013-04-15 12.52.14

Chicken avocado salad

2013-04-15 12.56.32

Baked chicken with potatoes

The chicken on my salad was very well marinated and the portion was good enough for me. It comes with avocado which is not a favourite yet but it will get there. My husband had the oven baked chicken with potatoes. It was good and it could be better if it was less oily. Again, the portion was satisfying enough for one. We enjoyed the food and had a good lunch yesterday. The hostess was kind enough to come by to ask about our dishes as she mentioned that they were trying them out with the lunch crowd and if they are tasty enough, they will put them on the main menu. I thought they were good enough.

I looked online and I would be trying these dishes next!

Steak Fries with Eggs

Steak Fries with Eggs

Curry Chicken

Curry Chicken

Salmon with Scrambled Eggs

Salmon with Scrambled Eggs

Cheeseburger!

Cheeseburger!

I like that this place allows you a welcome respite from the central business area of Singapore, has reasonably good food, has both indoor and alfresco seats, service is excellent and there is ample parking nearby.

Not bad for a weekday lunch date.

==========================================================================================

The Book Café:

Address : #01-02, 20 Martin Road S(239070), Seng Kee Building, Robertson Quay Singapore

Operating hours

Sunday to Thursday: 8:30am to 10:30pm (Last order at 10pm)

Friday & Saturday: 8:30am to 12:30 midnight (Last order at midnight)

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

