Neuschwanstein Castle – Danke

IMG_1301

Our 1st full view of Neuschwanstein Castle

I had a plan to get to the Neuschwanstein Castle from Munich and we followed it religiously. I did a lot of reading both on the castle’s website itself to looking through Tripadvisor and other tourists’s comments and advice. If you go onto the Tripadvisor forum for this castle, you will see that it is one of the most complex, thorough and complicated directions that I have ever come across. I went through every reader’s comment and wrote it down and confused myself further the more I read. I was confused it sounded like the castle was in a very remote place so how come we can do it on our own? I was also afraid that we will not be able to find it and get lost or find it and get lost on the way back. So I researched some more and wrote down the directions.

Going to the castle involves a train, a bus, a horse ride and walking. So you can see how intimidating the castle is, before we have even reached. But surprisingly once you start on the journey of getting there, it is not as difficult as it seems. In fact, I enjoyed the trip to the castle very much. There is a sense of satisfaction and achievement that I felt, for being able to navigate my family there safely and back. And I made sure to also check out the ticket counters etc or any other special tips that the tourists and locals shared with us before our trip. Along the way, you will see that there are also others who are going on the same route as you. They are trying not to ask you just like you are trying to look like you know what you are doing.

On each other’s faces, you can see apprehension, excitement and we are all looking forward to seeing this famous castle, live and in person.

Here is the plan: we did it in 2010 and it feels like it was yesterday.

From Munich to Hohenschwangau Castle:

– 830am sharp: Walk to Munich Hauptbahnhof from Hotel Jedermann.

– Take the 8.52am train from Munich Hauptbahnhof  to Fussen. Cost of train: €28. Reach Fussen at 11.23am.

– From Fussen, take bus RVA/OVG 73 in the direction to Steingaden / Garmisch-Partenkirchen or the bus RVA/OVG 78 in the direction to Schwangau until you reach the stop Hohenschwangau / Alpseestraße.

TIP: If you travel back to Munich on the same day your Bayern-Ticket will still be valid. If you travel back on a later date you need to buy a separate ticket. There is no cheaper ticket available than the Bayern-Ticket.

From Hohenschwangau Castle to Neuschwanstein Castle: 

On foot
You can walk to the castle in about 30 minutes.

By horse-drawn carriage
Departure point: Hotel Müller, Alpseestraße in Hohenschwangau.
From the horse carriage stand at the castle, it is about 300 m – approximately a 5-minute walk – to the castle entrance.
Costs: uphill journey 6 euros / downhill journey 3 euros

Once at the castle, the cost of the entrance is 9 Euros per adult.

IMG_0963

At München Hauptbahnhof, confirming directions to the castle, early in the morning.

IMG_1172

On the bus already, this is what we saw along the way

IMG_1173IMG_1178IMG_1183
IMG_1189

Our 1st glimpse of the castle! I think I screamed on the bus..

We remembered that entrance tickets can only be bought at the Ticket Centre at Hohenschwangau in the village of Hohenschwangau below the castle.

IMG_1194

After that we waited at the departure point for the horse carriage, for our ride up. We walked the way down though.

IMG_1193

Souvenir shop on the right!

IMG_1316

We then walked up to the castle from where the horses stop their carriages. And then we saw this.

IMG_1215

We joined the castle tour but it was very crowded and so we lingered towards the back and admired the castle’s interior. Photos were not allowed so we didn’t take any.

IMG_1220 IMG_1246

External of the castle – everyone was admiring the beautiful scenery and the weather was superb that day.

IMG_1249 IMG_1270

The funny thing is that I have always wanted to go to this castle but didn’t know what the name was or where it was. I have a jigsaw puzzle at home of this castle and I actually bought it 5 years ago. So maybe, it has been on my mind eversince. I only know it was this castle when I did my research on Munich and Germany.

Seeing the castle ‘live’ beats any jigsaw puzzle at home, definitely.

DANKE (Thank you), Castle Neuschwanstein.

20 comments

  1. Bonnie · · Reply

    Thanks for sharing, Michelle!

  2. Great photos! I went there in December many years ago and the cold went straight through me! The ticket office is definitely new.

    1. Thank you for visiting! Yes, it is a great place. And i can imagine how cold it can get in December!

  3. Bonnie · · Reply

    Hi Michelle,

    The Entrance fee Eur9 included the tour guide explanation?
    Thanks!

    1. I just saw that it is 12 euros now, instead of 9 per each adult.

  4. Kevin · · Reply

    Thanks for this. This really clarifies the timing of the schedule for me.

    1. You are welcome Kevin! Have a good trip!

  5. floridaborne · · Reply

    Thanks for a computer view of a place I can’t afford to go in person. Beautiful!

    1. Thank you for visiting my site! And thank you for liking the picture!

  6. Cinderella lives here… 🙂

    1. haha, yes i think so too!

  7. It is the most wonderful place! Unfortnuately, how ever many times i plead, my husband wont build me a replica for our own home….spoil sport!

    1. haha, how tough would that be!! Haha, he is smart for refusing. 🙂

  8. I life not sooo far from it and did never realize how difficult it might be to get there. But you managed it very well and as far as I can read you’ve enjoyed it 🙂

    1. Yes we love this castle and i will go back to visit one day, maybe stay in a hotel nearby as well.

  9. soundofmunichblog · · Reply

    Reblogged this on Sound of Munich and commented:
    Bitte schön!

  10. Hi
    Thanks for the info. I will be going in May. Instead of taking the horse ride, how long would it take to walk up?
    I read mixed reviews of the tour inside the castle. Many say that it’s not worth it. Your thoughts?

    1. Hi Peter
      It takes about 20-30 mins I think. We took the horses and then walked down after. Yes the tour is crowded and you couldn’t really hear the guide. But if you love castles interiors you shd go.

      Let me know if you have more queries and I try to answer. Thanks!

  11. very well explained, thanks for sharing , we are planning to visit in aug 2013,

    1. HI Meena,
      Thanks for reading and coming by. Have a good trip!

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

