Whistler : Kate Middleton & Ramen

IMG_4754

We went to Whistler, after Vancouver. We drove up and it was an easy 2 hr drive along the scenic Sea to Sky Highway. The temperature dropped as we went further up north to Whistler.

I just googled the temperature for Whistler, right this moment and it is 3 degrees. Perfect. I wish I was there. Instead of humid and hot Singapore which is 28 degrees at 1am! Can you imagine? Most of my overseas friends love the heat in Asia but let me tell you – you are not missing out on anything. Truly.

IMG_4730

We spent 3 days in Whistler and it was a glorious time. We do not ski but looking at everyone who does, makes us smile. Do you realise that everyone looks super cool in their ski gear? Somehow the combination of the skis, the colorful track suits that they wear coupled with their reflective sun googles makes them all look good.

There are actually 2 mountains there : Whistler & Blackcomb. I remembered that there was a PEAK 2 PEAK Gondola when we were there.

Here is what it says on the website:

The record-breaking PEAK 2 PEAK Gondola is an engineering marvel that links Blackcomb and Whistler Mountains together at their peaks. Boasting the longest unsupported lift span in the world (3.024 kilometres or 1.88 miles), it is also the highest lift of its kind with an elevation of 435 metres/1,427 feet.

That blew my mind.

The weather was perfect – sunny yet very cold. We experienced falling snow on our 1st night there too. It was magical.

We stayed at the Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre and it was a typically good Pan Pacific hotel. Nothing astounding but huge rooms and there was even a connecting living room for the 2 of us.

I remembered 3 things about Whistler – Kate Middleton, ramen & italian food.

1. Kate Middleton: I remembered setting my alarm for the wedding of the century on the 29 April 2011. I sprang up from bed, hopped silently to the living room, struggled with the remote control and watched in glee and awe as Kate Middleton arrived in style and waved to the public. In my hotel room in Whistler, I waved back to the tv.

I know, I know, I am a huge sucker.

IMG_4756

Harajuki Izakaya

IMG_4761

2. I remembered a Tripadvisor expert who told me to visit a small cafe in the hidden part of the village centre, in front of a car park for the best ramen I would eat in my life. We found the shop and it was very japanese. I just googled and screamed with glee when I located the name – Harajuku Izakaya. They sold sushi at the takeaway counter, japanese can drinks and ramen. Till this day, I remember the hot, steamy bowl of goodness that was placed in front of us. We struggled with our thick jackets, placed them on the tiny booth beside (what is it with ramen stores and tiny spaces??) and breathed in the hot delicious steam. I drank every single drop of soup and every strand of noodle. I am not sure if it was the ramen or the perfect weather or the fact that everything on holiday tastes better but I will always remember being here and time really stood still for us.

3. We ate at an Italian restaurant Trattoria Di Umberto, that was highly recommended by the hotel staff at Pan Pacific. It was rustic, Tuscan cuisine and boy, was it good. It was snowing as we ate and I really felt that if time stood still and we died there, it would have been OK.

You know one of those moments when you are so happy, you can feel your heart swell?

I felt that way in Whistler.

For more on my travel trips, see here, here and here.

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

