Do you like to order in when you travel?

photo (2)
photo
Chinese again, in Vancouver hotel
photo (1)

Sushi from supermarket in Whistler

Do you like to order takeaway or order in at hotels when you travel?

I realise, out of every trip that we have been on, we have always come to a stage where we just want to hang out in the hotel room, to relax and chill in our pyjamas. Are you like that too?

Sometimes it is because we went out bright and early in the morning and walked for the entire day. Inevitably, we would have snacked along the way, especially if we have gone to a Farmers Market. By the time dinner rolls along, we are cranky and tired and not that hungry that we will sit down at a restaurant to feast.  That is when we either hit the supermarket and buy some dinner to bring back to the hotel, or we order in from restaurants (which are frequently just opposite the hotel).

Sometimes it is because we have spent the day shopping and time just flew past! Yes, shopping does that to me. Then eating would totally be secondary and we would buy takeaway back to our hotel room. We would stumble back to the hotel, lugging our huge bags, plonk them down on the bed and take a nice hot shower. Then we feast!

Other times, it is because eating out is just too much hassle and we just wanna chill out in the hotel room. There is something very comfortable about kicking back in our pyjamas, freshly showered, hair up in a towel, pulling forward the chairs in the hotel room and settling in together with our takeaway. We will open the food, tear open the disposable chopsticks, tear open the soy sauce (if we are having sushi), arrange the food all around the table (which is often too low or too high), take our disposable plates and dig in!

Usually we buy too much or we order too many dishes from the takeaway menu, but everything looks good. And I always think more is better. What if the curry sucks? What if sushi packet 1 has bad fish? And when we order takeaway, I always insist on carbohydrates, like a rice or a noodle dish. As you can see from the pictures above, they all have CARBOHYDRATES. Something about eating in our super cold air-conditioned hotel room makes me go easier on myself.

Perhaps it brings back childhood memories where my grandfather would buy supper back when we stayed with him. Almost everynight, he would buy hokkien mee (fried prawn noodles), char kway teow (stir fried ricecake strips – I looked up the translation on Wiki), rojak (fruit and vegetable salad) and oyster omelette. All my uncles, shirtless and hungry, would grab plates from the kitchen and pounce on the delicious dishes. I would always zero in on the hokkien mee as that is my favourite.

It also reminds me of holidays with my mum when we were young – I would always sprint to the drawers and grab the room service menu. I would go through all the dishes and target which ones to order that night. My mum would always allow us to order from the menu even though the prices are exorbitant. My sister and I would debate and argue about which dish to order and come to a hungry compromise.

It is funny how we do things that bring us back to our childhood, subconsciously. I have loved takeaways since.

And not cleaning up the dishes after is not bad too.

For more on travel, see here, here, here and here.

2 comments

  1. i love room service!!

    1. me too!! I always thought i was the only one! Haha!

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

