Seattle ……

IMG_4832

I would like to start off my blog with a place that is very close to my heart – SEATTLE. And the hotel that I will always remember dearly.

We went to Seattle in 2010 and I recall that people asked me – Why Seattle? To which I answered – Why not?

We became interested in Seattle after watching ‘Grey’s Anatomy’. I remember Seattle as having dreary, rainy skies all day on the show and I love it. Unlike most people who love the sun, I love the rain.

I love the way the air smells after a heavy rainstorm.

After discussing our travel options, as usual, I embarked on a mission to research as much as I can. I bought guidebooks like Frommer’s, Lonely Planet (I like to buy so that I can write and circle places on the book), borrow older editions from the library ( what if the new editions missed out some crucial restaurant review or juicy tip??!) and also googled Seattle to death.

After all the research on hotels, I decided on the #1 hotel there – Inn at the Market. Before we went, I did not know what it meant when the website mentioned that it is the only hotel IN the Pike Place Market. Can a hotel be IN the market? I had doubts but as it was definitely near Pike Place Market, I hoped it would be worth it.

And it was.

Everything that I wanted from a hotel – cosy, accessible, near great restaurants, soft luxurious bed and staff that are helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is downtown, just at Pike Place Market, facing Puget Sound, near acclaimed restaurants (I will come to that in the other post) and has a great vibe to it. Every morning, we wake up to the sounds and sights of Pike Place Market and see the farmers unloading their daily wares, fruits, vegetables, flowers, fish … the feeling could not get better. I will always remember Inn at the Market fondly.

For more on Seattle, look here and here.

For more on travel, look here, here, here and here.

8 comments

  1. Seattle is such a gorgeous city. I forgot Grey’s Anatomy was set there. Did you have the opportunity to visit the North Seattle Mall?

    1. HI Cary, no we didnt. We went to Nordstom though and bought tons of stuff back to SG.

  2. I just came back from being a tourist in Seattle, and some of the places you wrote about are where I didn’t go to! And seems like I missed out heavy dosages of fun! Though yea my visit to Seattle was still fun. Many antique stuff there.

    1. HI Judee,
      Yes i love Seattle too! Dont worry, more reason for you to go back to revisit Seattle then. 🙂

  3. Looks like I found my next holiday destination! I love the rain and Greys Anatomy too!

    1. Great!! Thank you for reading!

  4. It’s always interesting for me to read the impressions of my home town by visitors. You may be the first person I recall saying they prefer rainy days. Funny that Grey’s Anatomy played a role in your decision. Seattle was growing up as I was. I watched the daily progress when the Space Needle was being built. I attended the University of Washington, and I still root for my Huskies.
    I enjoyed your writing. Nice post!

    1. Thank you for reading! Yes, I love Seattle and the rain! Nice to meet a Seattleite!

Leave a Reply

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

theBERRY

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

breatheeatlive | Where I've eaten, What I cook

An Austin Girl's Lifestyle blog: I Love Food & Telling Stories About My Adventures

Katie Goes to France

WWOOFing in Velaux

frugal first class travel

Dream. Plan. Pack. Travel. Repeat

Paddle Faster

Memories are the currency in which I measure my life.

Wilde About Dogs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Earthquakes, Skydiving and Kiwis

Winter in New Zealand 2013

things and stuff I love

a better life, one small step at a time.

From High Heels to Hiking Boots

A Backpacking Adventure

Europe By Yaris

One couple, one continent, one long summer

mrchefpooh

All about Food

Birdy begins

Travel, style, things that make you go hmm...

kasamud & more

just travel and eat...

GNineThree | Singapore Food Blog

Chronicles of a girl's food & baking escapades around the world

Rubbish Eat Rubbish Grow

Singapore Food Blog | Singapore Food Reviews | Best Singapore Food | Singapore Best Restaurants | Singapore Travel Blog | Singapore Hotel Reviews | Singapore Staycations

Clara Persis

Refining Social Marketing

The Ranting Panda

of blacks and whites and everything else | singapore | food reviews, lifestyle & travel

dinners for winners

happiness comes from good food

not on orchard

Follow me as I set-up home in Singapore

The Sixth Station

Fueled by popcorn and Dr. Pepper

michaelevansphotographerblog

Life as a Commercial Photographer based in Melbourne Australia...

andmorefood

will travel for food

